Skin care from my pantry.

So it’s been approximately 9 weeks since I’ve gone without brand cover up, foundation, or face powder.

I have been using a DIY mixture I found on Pinterest and Google.
I mixed corn starch, cinnamon, cocoa powder and nutmeg until the coloring was most like my skin tone.

The first day I immediately noticed a difference in the shine on my face. I am a visual merchandiser at a furniture store, so I’m in and out of a warehouse, in the heat, climbing on ladders, lifting heavy stuff…. So, I get a ‘glow’. Even oil free makeups made my face shiny. Well… No more. This new mixture from my cupboard made my skin feel fresh all day.

A couple of weeks later I noticed my skin was clearing. Cinnamon is an anti inflammatory, nutmeg works it’s magic on dark spots and scars, and cocoa let’s the skin absorb a healthy bronze. The blend smells wonderful. My pores shrunk and I noticed less blemishes.

The only negative I noticed was the texture. If happened to touch my face, I noticed it would leave a dry feeling on my fingers. Which ended up being a good thing, because I touched my face less.

I mixed everything in a clean repurposed jelly jar and applied it using a kabuki brush. A lil blush and some eye make up was all I needed on already tanned skin. Sometimes make up looks too fake in the summer, given the elements and my freckle face.

In addition to face powder. I’ve been using vitamin e as lotion, and it works wonders for skin that gets abuse at the beach.

Some other skin treats that have done me well:

1 part coconut oil and 1 part nutmeg, makes a great night scrub.

3 tsp water and 1 tsp of baking soda, makes a great morning skin reviver… Especially if you work out in am. I let it sit on my face while the shower heats up for a few seconds.

Check out this great read. that inspires you to dabble with your own concoctions..

… hopefully by the end of summer I will have an arsenal of homemade makeups.

Next on review. Almond and charcoal eye liner, powder, mascara. Vitamin E. And other DIY skin therapy.

Thanks for reading,

Bethany.

 

About bethanyd28594

Interior designer, crafter, bargain hunter, cooker, baker, veggie lover, visual merchandiser, furniture upcycler, beach goer, laugher, nature lover, Ben Franklin fan, love lover.
This entry was posted in health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Skin care from my pantry.

  1. Fantastic blog post, I really liked reading
    it. I do have a query which you might be in a position to
    help me with. I suffer from cystic acne and I also have
    extremely sensitive skin and I am also very sensitive to the sun, so
    my skin is often drying out. What can you advise to help?

  2. Thank you so very much for your kind words. I am by no means an expert. But I try to keep it simple and no fuss. My skin is combination and I have awful tap water.

    I love not having heavy makeup through the day, it works well in the very humid eastern nc. I moisturize with liquid vitamin e. just a few dabs on a freshly washed face, it has nourished my skin and definitely helps with time spent in the sun. I will do a quick two minute face mask of raw honey and baking soda on occassion. I think my biggest problem is drinking enough water. I think that and a healthy diet makes the biggest difference.

    I found this great link with very nice simple and good mask recipes. Maybe throw an avacado in there.

    This is why I love pinterest!

    http://www.sassybella.com/2008/11/recession-proof-beauty-10-homemade-facial-scrubs/

    Thank you again for your visits, attention, comments, and cheers, even jeers…. But hopefully no jeers. 🙂

    I hope to keep it coming and be inspired by your ideas too, so get a brush or find a sewing machine and have some fun and share often!

    Stay cool,

    Bethany ❤

  3. URL says:

    I wan’t going to comment as this posts a bit old now, but just wanted to say thanks. 607090

  4. Pingback: Learn More

Leave a Reply

