Happy Parents and Happy Aunts and Uncles Day!!!

Well, today is actually Parents day….Dedicated to celebrate family values. Amen to that. Let’s celebrate them, cause they seem to be disappearing!!

On July 26th, we celebrate our aunts and uncles!

High five to whoever started this holiday!! Just don’t waste your money on a card, this aunt would rather have a mimosa or glass of wine. Haha. No, really.

I’ve been an aunt since I was five, and recently a great aunt!!. And it’s awesome. And it gets better with age…. Like a fine slightly kooky wine. =)

I have a huge family and I love em.

I’m very lucky to live close to one of my brothers and one of my sisters and their families.

I was hanging out with one of my nieces the other day, and I told her I would make her a purse. She’s a little fashionista. I hope she still likes crafting and color and clothes as she gets older, cause we are going to have a blast.

20120722-075349.jpg

20120722-074135.jpg

I love being an aunt. I can help my bros and sisses when they need a hand. And I’m off the hook when it comes to the real responsibility (that I would be awful at anyway). And I friggen love Disney princess movies and making forts. So it’s all good.

I remember my aunt Betty taking me to the beach, getting Snapples at the street cart in Bay Head, getting ice cream sodas, feeding the ducks, buying cool hats, and just being super aunt with the coolest red hair. She never had children of her own, she had a great career and a bubbly personality and I’ll always remember her in the kindest light. That’s the kind of aunt I want to be.

I don’t plan on having children. The world is a little too crazy for me and I really enjoy Bethany time. I like calm and quiet, and I would probably drive me and the child both crazy. I have very strong feelings about morals, nutrition, education,etc. And the systems in place don’t support my ideals. And if you really knew how paranoid and anxious I get over the littlest things, you would support my decision.

So a huge XOXO goes out to all my nieces and nephews and great niece this week….. And my brothers and sisters and their spouses for raising such cool kids and bringing joy into my life, and sparing me the pain of child birth. I’m here if you need anything.

Love you,

Aunt Bethany

20120722-075256.jpg

Here is an easy 3 step process for making the flowers on my nieces purse.

1. Fold a piece of felt and stitch.

20120722-073402.jpg

2. Cut folded edge on a diagonal.

20120722-073439.jpg

3. Roll felt, and glue or hand stitch while rolling.

20120722-073616.jpg

Then attach to whatever you want. Make it a pin, a magnet, headband, bracelet, etc etc.

20120722-075438.jpg

What do you love about your nieces and nephews? How do you plan on celebrating now that you know we have our own day!!? Is there Anyone else out there who is content with spoiling their siblings children and skipping out on having your own? Please share.

About bethanyd28594

Interior designer, crafter, bargain hunter, cooker, baker, veggie lover, visual merchandiser, furniture upcycler, beach goer, laugher, nature lover, Ben Franklin fan, love lover.
This entry was posted in Interior Design and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Parents and Happy Aunts and Uncles Day!!!

  1. wow amazing ideas, your post made my night 🙂

  2. What a lovely post! And thank you for the flower tutorial . . . this is a new one I can’t wait to try! 🙂

  3. Thanks everyone! What are some awesome memories from your aunts and uncles??? I’m such a sucker for nostalgia!

Leave a Reply

