Paint the town.. Tomato Red.

Hey everyone! Thank you for the new and old blog love, visits, and likes!

I’m super excited about this week because it has an extra personal touch. The inspiration for this post comes from my mom’s garden.

My mom loves two things. Cooking and telling you what’s best. Her famous tag line…

“What ya gotta do is…”  and most of the time, she’s right.

I love food talk with my mom. Last summer, my brother and I helped her set up her garden and its made me appreciate the food on my plate that much more. Family bonding with dirt and worms makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

gardening in NJ

Jersey Fresh 😉

gardening

Labor of love.

My big sister went to visit my mom at the Jersey Shore last week(btw- we’re not all big hair, tanned, drunken monsters). She returned with about ten pounds of organic tomatoes from the garden. Heirloom, yellow, cherry, roma. MMMHM. I ate most of the cherry tomatoes as a snack for lunch. I really wish I inherited my mom’s green thumb.

So, not only does my mom know how to cook some amazing food, she knows how to cook in bulk.  I am #5 of 6 children.  So all those years of cooking on a budget, freezing food, and making me clear my plate has taught me well.

home grown  jersey tomatoes

This is why we they call it the garden state.

heirloom jersey tomatoes

They look so pretty in a salad!

My mom has always taught me and my siblings that a healthy diet is essential for a good life. If you eat well your brain works at full speed, you feel happier, you have more energy, and you save money on health care bills. It tastes better and it’s the perfect way to support local commerce.

Modern society has lost an appreciation for food. Real food. It could the influx of processed foods, extreme couponing or the lack of time everyone has. The job, the kids, the house, the crafting, the gym, the pinterest, and the time suck of Facebook. I could ramble on about modern technology and its failed attempt to save us time and money and effort. I’ll refrain for now. We spend so much time and money on everything other than feeding our body quality ingredients.

I’m a faux vegetarian. I avoid meat if I can, but I don’t get all worked up if someone is kind enough to cook for me and it has bacon; its more so an eco-friendly decision. I love eggs and beans and nuts and don’t get me started on my love of seafood; my diet gets plenty of protein.  Don’t worry.

Some people take better care of their car than their bodies. We need to get back to basic.  Come back and visit often, I plan to share more recipes that don’t come pressed, congealed, concentrated, or partial hydrogenated forms.

hippocrates quote

Source: Tomgrimshaw.com

I am going to dedicate this week to TOMATO RED! From crafts to food to interiors to fashion. Join in on my obsession with tomato red!

Today, I’m going to share a piece of my kitchen. I try my very best to shop for fresh food and keep my dinner recipes exciting and yummy while saving money. I have a hungry boyfriend who works very hard. I could survive on a salad every night, but he needs something a little more substantial.

So here we go…. Here are my FIVE favorite filling, yummy, fresh, budget-friendly and healthy recipes for your own tomato harvest.

Cream of tomato soup
Margherita quiche
Mac and cheese with chopped tomatoes
Lentil Shephards Pie (Courtesy of www.francocignelli.com… im hooked on this recipe)
Red Beans and Rice … Keep this recipe in your favorites. I’ll revisit this recipe later and tell you how to stretch this out for a whole week. 🙂

Click on the links above for instructions and ingredients.  Please try em and let me know what you think!

Do you eat your veggies? What are your favorite recipes using tomatoes?

Check back tomorrow for tomato red craftiness. I can’t wait to show you what I made/upcycled!!!

Much love and eat well,

Bethany

About bethanyd28594

Interior designer, crafter, bargain hunter, cooker, baker, veggie lover, visual merchandiser, furniture upcycler, beach goer, laugher, nature lover, Ben Franklin fan, love lover.
This entry was posted in All natural, emerald isle, Food, health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Paint the town.. Tomato Red.

  1. Franco says:

    I’m happy you liked the recipe.

  2. Elaine Steinbeck says:

    Really enjoyed!I look so forward to reading. As I have said, your blogs are entertaining and informative..the perfectbcombination!!!!!. Laine

  3. Curls & Q says:

    Love home grown tomatoes. Went out the other day and a green horned tomato caterpillar had decimated my yellow cherry tomatoes! 8-( Thanks for the recipes!

    Have you already celebrated with Pantone’s color of the year: Tangerine? Hey, that’s probably why I’ve been wearing so much orange this year. 😎 Subconciously.

  4. geralin89 says:

    You are so right!
    I shall try these recipes soon!

Leave a Reply

