Baby, It’s Cold Outside

Hey everyone!

I know I know!  It’s been a while.. Again.  But there are so many great blogs out there, I’m sure you’ve had plenty to read.

Snow in Emerald Isle, NC

Snow in Emerald Isle, NC

I really hate cold weather…   loathe, despise, detest!  It’s my personal kryptonite.  I don’t mind it so much when it snows, at least it’s pretty to look at at.

Im cold.

Source: Tumbler.com by heyyobecky4eva

So here are a few of my winter secrets that keep my energy level up, the germs away, and fend off the winter grumps.

1.  Fresh juice.

Every morning I juice (organically, always):

  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 1 1/2 inch of fresh ginger root
  • 4 carrots
  • 1/2 beet
  • 1 apple
  • 2 stalks of celery
jucing

Yummy! The apple and carrot make it sweet.

After I get up in the morning, after some coffee, oatmeal, a workout, and some water – I swig this down before I head to work.  I feel happier, more mentally alert, energetic, and it does wonders for my insides and outsides.  When you start the day on a healthy note, you are more likely to make better choices throughout the day.  It’s not rocket science or a secret — the better you eat, the stronger your body becomes so it can efficiently fight off an invasion of germs.

2.  Tea tree oil.

Source: Nutrasource.com (And 40% off, so I see. And lucky me, I just ran out!!)

I had caught that nasty head cold that has been going around.  My boyfriend suffered for at least two weeks with a hacking cough, runny nose, chapped lips, the usual.  UGH.  I don’t do vicks, chloreseptic, cough drops, etc, and I am not brave enough for the netti pot.

Instead, I boiled about 4 cups of water, and then added 3 drops of tea tree oil (NO MORE THAN THAT).  I stirred and let the two incorporate.  I sat over the pot with a towel over my head and slowly breathed in the vapors for about 10 minutes.  Make sure you take a breather when you need it, it gets hot.  Also, make sure you let the water and oil simmer for a couple minutes.  It smells really mediciney and stings the nostrils, at first.  My flu-ish feeling, headache, sore throat, and incessant sneezing all went away within the hour.  Tea tree oil is a natural antiseptic, bactericide, fungicide and anti-viral.  And it also does wonders for the skin.  Double bonus, no whammies!!!  It is also great for a bazillion other uses.  Google it.

3.  Bleach.

If you're gonna spew, spew into this.  -Waynes World

If you’re gonna spew, spew into this. -Waynes World

1 part bleach to 10 parts water is all it takes.

Wear gloves and cover your mouth and nose and open a window while cleaning with bleach.  But bleach everything!  I’m not talking anti bacterial bologna.  Bleach.  Toilets, door knobs, sinks, keys, cell phone, outside of your purse (if its leather or leather-like), bed sheets and towels, car steering wheel, etc, etc.  I don’t like harsh cleaners, and normally I use a tea tree oil cleaner, but in the winter I make exceptions.  And it goes without saying, wash your hands, don’t touch your eyes, nose, face, and please cough into your elbow.  Don’t be a jerk.

4.  An ark full of clementines.

clementines Source: http://thescientistgardener.blogspot.com

I know they are full of vitamin C, and that’s always good.  Even if they had no nutritional value, they are good for the soul.  They are that perfect sweet fix when you are trying to eat clean.  HEY YOU!!!  Step away from the left over Halloween candy!

5.  The glow of Christmas lights.

Freshness!

Freshness!

Holiday decorations turn me into a big sappy mess.  Conifer pun intended.  The twinkle of Christmas lights makes me feel like a kid again.  And I think they create a placebo-like effect and keep me toasty while I refuse to crack the heat any higher.  Where are my fuzzy socks!!??

I will be back very soon with some yummy cocktails and recipes to keep your spirits up while old man winter chews off our toes and ears and nose like a geriatric zombie.

How do you handle the winter blues??

It’s nice to be back, enjoy, and Happy Holidays, Merry Christmas, Happy Chanukah, and everything in between,

Bethany

About bethanyd28594

Interior designer, crafter, bargain hunter, cooker, baker, veggie lover, visual merchandiser, furniture upcycler, beach goer, laugher, nature lover, Ben Franklin fan, love lover.
This entry was posted in All natural, beach, emerald isle, Food, health, Humor, Interior Design and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Baby, It’s Cold Outside

  1. Really loving this post. I think you just inspired me to buy a juicer! The holidays can be so overwhelming, thanks for the helpful tips!

  2. Ruby says:

    Love your tips here. I have a bottle of tea tree oil that I use sporadically but this sounds like a much more reasonable use. Thanks for the healthy tips 🙂

    • Thanks, Ruby! Tea tree oil is great! I also mix some drops with water and a little castille soap (lavender or peppermint) and spray it on all my furniture and carpets to keep a fresh scent in the house without the chemicals of febreeze. Cheaper and safer for babies and animals too!

      Thanks for reading and commenting!!
      ❤ B

  3. Pingback: Baby, It’s Cold Outside. Part 2. | Bethany Beach Designs

Leave a Reply

